A New Venture

I am THE WORST at this blog! I got on and saw that I had created a draft post back in July about our family’s new “normal” and reflecting on the past 6 months with two children. Welp, it’s now been over a year! Amelia is approaching 2 1/2 and Keir had his birthday on Christmas!

Speaking of Christmas, the kids got overloaded with toys. So much so that we literally rotated out what they had before “The Big Guy” came.  With regards to toys, in my perfect world my kids would have all montessori wooden toys that stimulate their brain and increase their imagination…in my perfect world!  But then FROZEN and Mickey Mouse brainwashed my children and the obsession was born. So I thought to myself, how can I incorporate FROZEN into my perfect world of wooden toys that spark pretending and role playing- Voila: Wooden Peg Dolls.
Around Thanksgiving I got on Etsy and to my surprise there were multiple shops creating wooden peg dolls of the FROZEN characters.  Some very detailed down to the facial expression of Olaf’s huge grin and Elsa’s badass eyebrow raise, to some as simple as just two black dots for eyes (which I was more drawn to). I just loved the simplicity of these dolls regardless of their design, and decided I wanted a set for Amelia, Cannon and Elle- clearly assuming Cannon and Elle loved FROZEN as much as Amelia did.

IMG_1929Because I am not busy at all with work and life in general I decided instead of buying them from a shop, I’d make them myself. Three sets total! Yup! And I did it! I didn’t realize how calming and therapeutic it actually was.  Once I put the kids to bed, I was able to focus on these dolls and I was determined to make them just as good as the ones I’d seen on Etsy.

IMG_1924
So, with that being said, I would love the opportunity to make your wee one some peg dolls. They don’t have to be FROZEN, they can be anything. Fun fact, I actually just made my first set and sold it to the cutest little gal in GA! If you child has a favorite character or if you’d like to have a set of your family, I’d love to be your go-to gal!

Thanks for your support!

-Jill

Leave a Reply

